Why did you become a photographer? FAQ

studio (1 of 5)

Since I started working as a photographer, I’ve been asked many questions. When and Why did you become a photographer? What makes you think you are good enough to be a professional? I’m going to attempt to answer these questions in my following words.

When Did You Become A Photographer?

There are a few different answers to this question. When did I first take a photograph- probably as a child, around five years old. When did I first start practising with a dslr? January 2012, and when did I first open shop? Around June 2014. As I write this post currently, it is December 2014, a mere six months of working in the industry, and I love it.

Why Did You Become A Photographer?

Since I can remember, I have been queen of nostalgia. Perhaps this is thanks to my dad, who reinforced my childhood memories by always helping me remember previous events. For example, I remember even when I was just five years old, he would say “Penny, do you remember when you were two years old, and we danced in the living room to the old vinyl record player ‘ or ‘Penny, do you remember when we visited this place’ ‘when this happened’ ‘when we met so and so’. I guess, this is where I learned to value and cherish memories. Part of placing high value on the varied passing moments in life, I am a hoarder of many objects and bits of junk, each with its own irreplaceably precious memory attached to it. Likewise, this mentality transcends directly into the ethical foundations of my business mantra- Treasure each moment.

A Treasured Moment Is A Treasured Life

Anybody can speak about how great photography is, how you can take captive a singular moment in time and make it last seemingly forever. To be able to hold a cherished memory visibly in my hands, and to live it over again. That to me, still blows my mind. Every day of my life. And that’s really, why I love photography because it fuels and answers my deep rooted desire to hold on to the moments of life that make me me. Significant, insignificant (if there is such a thing) and everything inbetween. Photography is a gift to us, and I choose to gratefully receive it.

My First Camera.

Before I spent two entire semesters worth of student loan to invest in my Canon 5d Mk iii which I ADORE, I started to learn on its predecessor, my first DSLR which was a Canon 550d. This is where I left the comfort of Auto mode to learned the ropes of manual mode, which to be honest, took me a long long time to get my head around. I was never in love with this camera if I am honest. It wasn’t full frame, the only lens I owned was a standard kit lens, and I aspired to achieve results which were outside the limitations of the gear I owned. Having said that, I am thankful that it gave way to a deeper love and commitment to my craft, but when I finally had the resources to invest in the 5d Mk iii, I haven’t looked back since.

Why did you decide to start a business?

I have always dreamed of owning my own business. I’ve always been a dreamer, imagineer, and as a creative, I have thrived in working situations where I’ve received the space, trust and opportunity to bring creative insight to the tasks i’ve been given. As an only child, I spent a lot of alone-time growing up, and I think that somehow helped my young evolving mind to learn to think deeply and freely; to process deeper philosophical concepts, ideas, and to bring them to fruition. So, as you can see, being a creative business owner, (albeit part-time) is the perfect fit for my personality. Also, I’ve always known that my personal mission and purpose in life is to help enrich the lives of others around me. Following this into a career choice, my degree in Psychology and Religious studies first started out as an attempt to perhaps get into counselling, or social work, or a similar field, however, I am delighted with how it has prepared me for my work in photography. I believe that through my photography, I can help others by capturing the most precious moments and memories in their lives, and it is a great honour to do so.

What makes you think you are good enough to do photography as a job?

I don’t know if it is only me who is asked these kind of questions, probably not. This one is tough to answer. Part of me feels that I can take photographs, edit them and present them to clients in a way which is professional. Yet the insecure girl in me sometimes wonders if I was right to start up when I did. Was it too soon, did I need to perfect my stills more? I don’t know. All I have to work with is the feedback from the wonderful people that I get to work with- the amazing photographers I have worked alongside, and the kind and positive feedback I have received from my clients. I took a risk at the end of the day, and chose to believe in myself when few others did. It paid off, and now I am happy creating art and capturing the beauty in the lives of others around me.

Leave a comment